About Nizamabad District

  • Nizamabad is one among the Telangana Districts having 7956 KMs of length and 25,52,073 of population. The district headquarters is at Nizamabad town located at a distance of 165 kms from the State capital. Nanded district of Maharastra lies to its west. It also shares borders with Bidar district of Karnataka with an area of 7990 Sqkms. Godavari and Manjira are the important rivers which flow through the district. The Nizamsagar project on Manjira and Sriram Sagar project of Godavari are the important irrigation projects in the district.
  • NH-44 and NH-63 pass through the district, covering the stretch of 108 and 55.4 KMs respectively. Hyderabad - Manmad - Mumbai Railway line also passes through Nizamabad. There are 9 State Legislative Assembly constituencies in the district namely Nizamabad Urban, Nizamabad Rural, Armoor, Balkonda, Bodhan, Jukkal, Banswada, Kamareddy and Yellareddy. Nizamabad Parliamentary constituency and part of Zaheerabad Parliamentary constituency of Medak district also falls in this district.
  • History

  • Nizamabad was formerly known as Indur and Indrapuri. It was ruled by the king Indra Vallabha Panthya Varsha Indra Som, of the Rashtrakuta Dynasty , in the 8th century, and took its name from him. In 1905 the railway line between Secundrabad and Manmad was constructed. The railway station was named after then ruler of the Nizam state Nizam-ul-Mulk as Nizamabad.
  • Places of tourist interest include: Nizamsagar, Limbadri Gutta, Ali Sagar, Killa Ramalayam, Sai Baba Temple, Dichpally Ramalayam and Domakonda fort are places of tourist interest.
  • Strength:- There are 4 Police Sub-Divisions: namely Nizamabad, Armoor,Bodhan and Kamareddy, and 11 circles viz., Nizamabad town, Nizamabad Rural, Dichpally, Armoor (R), Bheemgal, Kamareddy (R), Biknoor, Yellareddy, Bodhan (R), Banswada (R) and Bhichkunda. 6 Polices Stations namely Nizamabad Town-I, Nizamabad Rural, Bodhan, Banswada, Armoor and Kamareddy, have been upgraded and being manned by Inspectors of Police.